Tip 5. Never assume you know it all!

I had some wonderful surprises at the workshop I ran at the Hahndorf Academy on Saturday. None of my students had done monoprints (strictly known as monotypes) before, but they took to the process like ducks to water and came up with ideas that I’d never thought of!

Sarah, Carol and Sallie admire their handiwork

Sarah, Carol and Sallie admire their handiwork

Here are some of their masterpieces:

Walking in the rain, by Sallie Butterfield.

Walking in the rain, by Sallie Butterfield.

gum leaves, by Sarah Fawcett

gum leaves, by Sarah Fawcett

Moon and grass, by Kate Davidson

Moon and grass, by Kate Davidson

Lace and banksia leaves, by Carol Bailey

Lace and banksia leaves, by Carol Bailey

I was very humbled by the experience – they taught me far more than I taught them!

Thanks also to Kate and Sarah for lugging the press up and down the stairs. I couldn’t have managed without you!

Kate Davidson using my portable etching press

Kate Davidson using my portable etching press

Sallie and Carol swapping ideas

Sallie and Carol swapping ideas

I hope they will come back again later this year for another go – this time using colour. I can’t wait to see what they come up with next!

Leave a Reply

