Tip 11: You will never stop learning new techniques!

Dog and Moon, 2 colour waterless litho by JW

Dog and Moon, 2 colour waterless litho by JW

I thought I’d learnt a lot about printmaking after 40 on-and-off years of doing it, but the wonderful thing about this medium is that it never stops evolving.  I had heard about waterless lithography about ten years ago, and had always meant to try it out for myself, but until I heard about the Printmaking Sisters I had no idea how to start. Although these girls are no spring chickens, (well, neither am I!) they are bursting with energy, ideas and a heap of information about this technique.

I had the opportunity to do a 4 day workshop with them in Adelaide this year, which was kindly hosted by another talented lady, Liz Wauchope. It was a mind-bending experience: we were introduced to so many new and exciting ideas that I found it hard to keep it all in my head, but the Sisters’ excellent instruction and patient guidance helped me through all the processes and I was very agreeably surprised with the results of my efforts.

Fish 1, plate printed in blue on Hosho paper with hand colouring on the back of print

Fish 1, plate printed in blue on Hosho paper with hand colouring on the back of print

Fish 2, three plates printed in yellow red and blue on Canaletto paper

Fish 2, three plates printed in yellow red and blue on Canaletto paper

I am quietly experimenting at home with the technique, with the intention of producing a series of waterless lithos on an avian theme. I have something to aim for: the Sisters run a biannual print exchange, which raises substantial funds for an important cause. If you’re quick, you may be able to purchase your own set of prints from the 2013 exchange via this webpage.

Leave a Reply

